Saturday , 15 June 2024

Who was first elected President of Pakistan?

A. Agha Muhammad Yahya Khan
B. Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq
C. Air Marshal Asghar Khan
D. Field Marshal Ayub Khan

Answer & Solution
Option: D
Explanation :First elected President of Pakistan was Mohammad Ayub Khan. He was second and the longest serving President in the history of Pakistan who kept the office from 1958 to 1969.
After several years of political turmoil in Pakistan, in 1958 President Iskander Mirza, with army support, abrogated the constitution and appointed Ayub as chief martial law administrator. Soon after, Ayub had himself declared president, and Mirza was exiled.
Ayub introduced the system of “basic democracies” in 1960. A national referendum among all those elected confirmed Ayub as president. He was reelected under this system in 1965, against a strong challenge from an opposition united behind Fatima Jinnah, the sister of Mohammed Ali Jinnah, the creator of Pakistan.
The internal and external turmoil made Ayub announced he would not stand for reelection. Riots continued, and he resigned his office on March 26, 1969, to be succeeded by General Yahya Khan, commander in chief of the army
Discuss in Forum
Report Error
Please comment below with correct answer and it’s detail explanation.

    About Pakexammcq

    Check Also

    Which one is the smallest river of Pakistan?

    A. Kabul B. Ravi C. Chenab D. Sutlej

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *